German Alliance
for Trade Facilitation

Gemeinsam für freien
und fairen Handel

Together for fast and transparent trade.

The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation brings German and international companies together with actors from business and government in partner countries. In our projects, we reduce bureaucratic barriers and facilitate transparent customs, export and import conditions.

With the support of the German Federal Government, the Alliance combines the strengths of companies, business associations and ministries to create sustainable change. Within the framework of the Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) agreed by the World Trade Organization (WTO), we support the economic development of emerging and developing countries through fair trade, and contribute to the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

More Information

How We Work

Solution-Oriented

The Alliance achieves measurable cost and time savings in customs and trade processes.

Collaborative

The Alliance creates a powerful network that brings together players from the public and private sectors.

Global

The Alliance has a presence in Germany and partner countries, and manages a global network.

Value-Based

The Alliance and its partners contribute to sustainable development in the spirit of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the TFA.

Testimonials from Our Partners

Copyright: Michael Gottschalk (photothek.net)

Developing countries need fair trade. In this regard, we are making much greater leaps in development than with public money. Reducing trade barriers helps developing countries to participate in local, regional and global trade. The costs of trade are reduced, and fair competition can take place. At the same time, these simplifications help local producers and create new opportunities for investment and development — and this is also true for German companies. We need the expertise of German industry so that we can improve trade with developing countries in a targeted manner. This is what we are achieving together with our partners in the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation.

Dr. Gerd Müller, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development

(translated from German)

Over 100% more customs clearances within one hour of the arrival of goods using digital customs processes: this success has been achieved by GIZ together with companies, associations and partner countries in projects of the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation. The partners in the Alliance are working together to reduce time and costs in cross-border trade. GIZ ensures that Alliance projects bring about sustainable changes for all parties involved, for partner countries and for the economy.

Tanja Gönner, Chair of the Management Board, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

(translated from German)

Non-tariff barriers in the export of goods to foreign markets cost German companies several million euros each year. They are also one of the central obstacles to the integration of developing and emerging countries into the world economy. In the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation, German companies work together with partners specifically to bring about more efficient customs clearance in the partner countries. This facilitates trade, reduces costs and brings more prosperity in the long term. The BDI therefore supports this initiative as a member of the steering committee and in its implementation with the companies of the member associations.

Dr. Stefan Mair, Member of the Executive Board, Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V. (BDI)

(translated from German)

With its broad range from premium cars to heavy commercial vehicles, Daimler AG is one of the largest international automobile manufacturers. Our value creation is global and interconnected, which is why we rely on free trade. In the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation, we are therefore committed to the sustainable removal of trade barriers of all kinds. The Alliance’s very concrete and specific projects in developing and emerging countries strengthen local companies and facilitate their integration into global value chains. In this way, the Alliance creates win-win situations for everyone involved.

Eckart von Klaeden, Vice President External Affairs, Daimler AG

(translated from German)

Our chemistry is used in almost all industries. Our products are manufactured at more than 347 locations worldwide and supplied to customers all over the world. Free global trade is essential for this. The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation supports these efforts in very concrete ways in order to facilitate trade in different countries. In particular, cooperation with local authorities represents a high added value for globally active companies such as BASF, because free world trade enables us to supply our customers more reliably and faster.

Jochen Dächert, Vice President Global Customs and Foreign Trade, BASF SE

(translated from German)

The BMW Group stands for worldwide free trade. As a company that operates in international markets and maintains a global production network, barrier-free market access is a decisive success factor for us. The members of the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation are involved in tailor-made sustainable projects to remove barriers to cross-border trade. This benefits both the companies involved and the partner countries. The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation thus makes a significant contribution to growth, prosperity and employment in the global economy.

Dr. Thomas Becker, Head of Policy and External Relations, BMW AG

(translated from German)

As the world’s most international company, at DHL, in offering logistics solutions to our customers, we see firsthand the negative impact of overly bureaucratic and costly customs and border controls. The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation offers us and many other German businesses the opportunity to help change the landscape, working together with the German government to improve the trading environment via well-defined, outcome-oriented projects in target countries. Combining the expertise of the business community with the development expertise of GIZ maximizes the opportunity to deliver real sustainable growth. Supporting trade is our business, and supporting the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation was an opportunity that we could not and would not want to miss.

Steven Pope, Vice President Customs and Regulatory Affairs, DHL Express Europe

Projects

Project Idea

Ukraine

Implementation of an Electronic
Pre-Arrival Customs Clearance Systems

Serbia

Implementation of an Electronic
Pre-Arrival Customs Clearance Systems

Montenegro

Planned Cooperation towards an
Integrated Risk Management System

Indonesia

Implementation of an Electronic
Pre-Arrival Customs Clearance Systems

Moldova

Project Idea

Brazil

Allianz für
Handelserleichterungen

Gemeinsam für freien
und fairen Handel

Gemeinsam für schnellen und transparenten Handel.

Die Allianz für Handelserleichterungen bringt deutsche und internationale Unternehmen mit Akteuren aus Wirtschaft und Politik in Partnerländern zusammen. In unseren Projekten bauen wir bürokratische Barrieren ab und vereinbaren transparente Zoll-, Ausfuhr- und Einfuhrbedingungen.

Mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung bündelt die Allianz die Stärken von Unternehmen, Wirtschaftsverbänden und Ministerien und schafft so eine Basis für nachhaltige Veränderung. Im Rahmen des Abkommens der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) über Handelserleichterungen fördern wir die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern und tragen zur Agenda 2030, der globalen Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung, bei.

Mehr Informationen

Wie wir arbeiten

Lösungsorientiert

Die Allianz erzielt messbare Kosten-und Zeitersparnisse in Zoll- und Handelsprozessen.

Global

Die Allianz ist in Deutschland und Partnerländern präsent und schafft ein globales Netzwerk.

Partnerschaftlich

Die Allianz schafft ein schlagkräftiges Netzwerk, das Akteure aus Privatwirtschaft und dem öffentlichen Sektor zusammenbringt.

Wertebasiert

Die Allianz und ihre Partner tragen gemeinsam zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung im Sinne der Agenda 2030 und des WTO-Abkommens über Handelserleichterungen bei.

Stimmen zur Allianz

Copyright: Michael Gottschalk (photothek.net)

Entwicklungsländer brauchen fairen Handel. Damit schaffen wir deutlich größere Entwicklungssprünge als mit öffentlichen Geldern. Der Abbau von Handelshemmnissen unterstützt Entwicklungsländer dabei, am lokalen, regionalen und globalen Handel teilzunehmen. Die Kosten des Handels werden reduziert und ein fairer Wettbewerb kann stattfinden. Diese Vereinfachungen helfen gleichzeitig den Produzenten vor Ort und schaffen neue Chancen für Investitionen und Entwicklung – auch für deutsche Unternehmen. Denn wir brauchen das Know-How der deutschen Wirtschaft, damit wir zielgenau den Handel mit Entwicklungsländern verbessern können. Das leisten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern in der Deutschen Allianz für Handelserleichterungen.

Dr. Gerd Müller, Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung 

Über 100% mehr Zollfreigaben innerhalb einer Stunde nach Warenankunft durch digitale Zollprozesse – solche Erfolge erzielt die GIZ gemeinsam mit Unternehmen, Verbänden und Partnerländern in Projekten der Deutschen Allianz für Handelserleichterungen. Gemeinsam arbeiten die Partner in der Allianz daran, Kosten und Zeit im grenzüberschreitenden Warenhandel zu reduzieren. Die GIZ stellt dabei sicher, dass Projekte der Allianz nachhaltige Veränderungen für alle Beteiligten mit sich bringen – sowohl für Partnerländer als auch für die Wirtschaft.

Tanja Gönner, Vorstandssprecherin, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Nichttarifäre Handelshemmnisse beim Export von Waren in ausländische Markte kosten deutsche Unternehmen jedes Jahr mehrere Millionen Euro. Sie sind zudem eine der zentralen Hürden bei der Integration insbesondere von Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern in die Weltwirtschaft. In der Allianz für Handelserleichterungen engagieren sich deutsche Unternehmen gemeinsam mit Partnern und ganz konkret für eine effizientere Zollabwicklung in den Partnerländern. Dies erleichtert Handel, reduziert Kosten und bringt langfristig mehr Wohlstand. Der BDI unterstützt die Initiative daher als Mitglied des Steuerungskomitees und in der Umsetzung mit den Unternehmen der Mitgliedsverbände.

Dr. Stefan Mair, Mitglied der Hauptgeschäftsführung, Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e. V. (BDI)

Mit ihrer breiten Palette von Premium-PKW bis hin zu schweren Nutzfahrzeugen ist die Daimler AG einer der größten internationalen Automobilhersteller. Unsere Wertschöpfung ist global und vernetzt, daher bauen wir auf freien Handel. In der Allianz für Handelserleichterungen setzen wir uns deshalb für den nachhaltigen Abbau von Handelsbarrieren jeglicher Art ein. Die sehr konkreten und spezifischen Projekte der Allianz in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern stärken lokale Unternehmen und erleichtern deren Integration in globale Wertschöpfungsketten. Damit schafft die Allianz Win-Win-Situationen für alle Beteiligten.

Eckart von Klaeden, Vice President External Affairs, Daimler AG

Unsere Chemie wird in nahezu allen Branchen eingesetzt. Unsere Produkte werden an weltweit mehr als 347 Standorten hergestellt und an Kunden in der ganzen Welt geliefert. Dafür ist ein freier Welthandel unerlässlich. Die Allianz für Handelserleichterungen unterstützt diese Bestrebungen sehr konkret, um den Handel in verschiedenen Ländern zu erleichtern. Insbesondere die Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Behörden stellt einen hohen Mehrwert für global agierende Unternehmen wie die BASF dar. Denn durch einen freien Welthandel können wir unsere Kunden verlässlicher und schneller beliefern.

Jochen Dächert, Vice President Global Customs & Foreign Trade, BASF SE

Die BMW Group steht für weltweiten Freihandel. Als Unternehmen, das auf internationalen Märkten tätig ist und ein globales Produktionsnetzwerk unterhält, ist für uns ein barrierefreier Marktzugang ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor. Die Mitglieder der Allianz für Handelserleichterungen engagieren sich in maßgeschneiderten und nachhaltigen Projekten für den Abbau von Barrieren im grenzüberschreitenden Handel. Davon profitieren sowohl die beteiligten Unternehmen als auch die Partnerländer. Damit trägt die Allianz für Handelserleichterungen maßgeblich zu Wachstum, Wohlstand und Beschäftigung in der globalen Wirtschaft bei.

Dr. Thomas Becker, Leiter Politik und Außenbeziehungen, BMW AG

As the world’s most international company, offering logistics solutions to our customers, at DHL we see first-hand, the negative impact of overly bureaucratic and costly customs and border controls. The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation offers us and many other German Businesses the opportunity to help change the landscape, working together with the German Government to improve the trading environment via well-defined, outcome orientated projects in target countries.  Combining the expertise of the business community with the development expertise of the GIZ, maximizes the opportunity to deliver real sustainable growth. Supporting trade is our business and supporting the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation was an opportunity that we could not and would not want to miss.

Steven Pope, Vice President Customs & Regulatory Affairs, DHL Express Europe

Projekte

Vereinfachen von Zollprozessen und -Dokumenten

Ukraine

Einführung eines elektronischen Pre-Arrival-
Zollabfertigungssystems

Serbien

Einführung eines elektronischen Pre-Arrival-
Zollabfertigungssystems

Montenegro

Geplante Zusammenarbeit hin zu einem
integrierten Risiko-Management-System

Indonesien

Einführung eines elektronischen Pre-Arrival-
Zollabfertigungssystems

Moldau

Projektidee

Brasilien