WORKING TOGETHER TO FACILITATE GLOBAL TRADE 

High-Level Forum 2022
19 September 2022 in Berlin, Germany

Together with high-ranking guests from government and businesses, we will discuss what the current challenges in international trade are and what opportunities we must promote for the further implementation of the World Trade Organization’s Trade Facilitation Agreement.

The High-Level Forum 2022 focuses on strong cooperation between governments, companies and associations. The implementation of trade facilitation under the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) and digitalisation of international trade are two key topics of discussion, but also within the framework of the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation. The Forum will begin with speeches by two parliamentary state secretaries from relevant federal ministries. This will be followed by two panel discussions and a networking event.

Please contact us if you are interested in attending the event in Berlin: tradefacilitation@giz.de

AGENDA

CONCEPT NOTE

Current economic, political, and environmental challenges influence the development of global trade. More than ever, trade facilitation as an integrative approach is in the common interest of governments, business, and society.

5 years ago, the members of the World Trade Organization (WTO) set the goal of jointly simplifying the rules on import, transit and export of goods in global trade through the Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA). It is not only relevant for emerging and developing countries to reduce costs and time for cross-border trade in goods. Trade facilitation leads to an increase in exports and thus improves the business and investment climate worldwide. This contributes to job creation and poverty reduction.

The 5th anniversary of the implementation of the WTO TFA is a good occasion to share learning experiences and look forward to the coming years together.

Together with high-ranking guests from government and businesses, we will discuss what the current challenges in international trade are and what opportunities we must promote for the further implementation of the TFA. We will focus on two transformative topics: Implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) and Digitalization in International Trade.

Panel 1: Implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement

Why is it important to support the implementation of the AfCFTA within the framework of the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation?

The AfCFTA is the largest free trade area since the establishment of the World Trade Organization. 54 member states of the African Union have the common goal of a continental single market consisting of 1.3 billion people and a gross domestic product of 3.4 trillion US dollars. The initiative aims at promoting and expanding intra-African trade, enhancing competitiveness, and developing the processing industry of the African economy. With an expected boost of intra-African trade by 52.3 per cent (UNECA[1]), the Agreement will encourage trade and diversify local economies. In addition, the Agreement will lead to collaborative structures, dispute settlement and a more secure investment environment. These ambitious goals support the socio-economic transformation envisioned by Agenda 2063 by the African Union. Better business opportunities and environments will benefit local and international companies alike, and the Agreement will thus be a step towards the aspiration of ‘a prosperous Africa, based on inclusive growth and sustainable development’ (African Union, Agenda 2063).

Given this imperative and with a view to stimulate debate and support action on the new ground, speakers and guests of the High-Level Forum 2022 will discuss challenges and opportunities in the implementation of the AfCFTA. The discussion will focus on sustainable and self-sustaining economic development in Africa and highlight trade facilitation measures and efforts of governments, businesses, and associations in boosting international and intra-African trade. Current trends and challenges in global supply chains provide additional food for thoughts about potential of the AfCFTA implementation. Through bundling resources and exploring diversification strategies all stakeholders could contribute to more resilient cross border trade.

[1] United Nations. Economic Commission for Africa (2019). African Continental Free Trade Area: Questions & Answers. Addis Ababa. © UN. ECA. https://hdl.handle.net/10855/43253

Panel 2: Digitalization of International Trade

How can digitalization promote transparent and efficient custom processes?

For the movement, release, and clearance of goods in cross-border trade, specific data must be processed. In many developing countries, paper-based documents and manual processes are still common in customs. Resulting risks such as lack of transparency and inefficiency pose challenges for governments, businesses, and commoners at borders.

The digitisation of data and processes around trade enables fast document transfer, verifiable sources and a high level of trust for all actors involved. Digital customs processes greatly facilitate trade by reducing waiting time at border crossing points. The contact restrictions caused by the Covid 19 pandemic have shown that the digitisation of documents and procedures is possible in a short time. For sustainable impact, governments need to optimise and adapt entire systems in consultation with the private sector over the long term. Technologies such as blockchain enable participatory and transparent processes in which small and medium-sized enterprises can also access relevant systems and structures more easily. In various projects, the German Alliances for Trade Facilitation thus works together with local and international partners to implement digital solutions for trade. This is in line with the ‘Digitalisation for Development’ approach of the German Federal Government, which focuses on new work, local innovations, equal opportunities, Good Governance and the use of data to support the digital transformation in partner countries.

The High-Level Forum 2022 provides a platform for different perspectives on the digital transformation, as speakers from government authorities, associations and businesses come together to discuss how further facilitation in international trade can be promoted.

GEMEINSAM GLOBALEN HANDEL ERLEICHTERN 

High-Level Forum 2022
am 19. September 2022 in Berlin

Zusammen mit hochrangigen Gästen aus Politik und Wirtschaft wollen wir die Herausforderungen und Chancen für die weitere Umsetzung des Abkommens über Handelserleichterungen der Welthandelsorganisation diskutieren.

Das High-Level Forum 2022 richtet den Fokus auf die starke Zusammenarbeit zwischen Regierungen, Unternehmen und Verbänden. Die Umsetzung von Handelserleichterungen im Rahmen der Pan-Afrikanischen Freihandelszone (AfCFTA) und Digitalisierung des internationalen Handels sind – auch im Rahmen der Deutschen Allianz für Handelserleichterungen – zwei Schwerpunktthemen der Diskussion. Das Forum beginnt mit Reden von zwei parlamentarischen Staatssekretärinnen aus zuständigen Bundesministerien. Daran schließen zwei Podiumsdiskussionen und eine Netzwerkveranstaltung an.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie an einer Veranstaltungsteilnahme in Berlin interessiert sind: tradefacilitation@giz.de

AGENDA

ANMERKUNG ZUM KONZEPT

Aktuelle Herausforderungen in Wirtschaft, Politik und Umwelt beeinflussen die Entwicklung des globalen Handels. Mehr denn je liegt die Erleichterung des Handels als integrativer Ansatz im gemeinsamen Interesse von Regierungen, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Vor 5 Jahren haben sich die Mitglieder der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) durch das Abkommen über Handelserleichterungen (TFA) zum Ziel gesetzt, gemeinsam die Regeln über Ein-, Durch- und Ausfuhr für Waren im globalen Handel zu vereinfachen. Es ist nicht nur für Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländer relevant, Kosten und Zeitaufwand für den grenzüberschreitenden Warenverkehr zu senken. Handelserleichterungen führen zu einem Anstieg der Exporte und verbessern somit weltweit das Geschäfts- und Investitionsklima. Dies trägt zur Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und zur Armutsbekämpfung bei.

5 Jahre Umsetzung des WTO TFA – ein guter Anlass, um Lernerfahrungen auszutauschen und zusammen auf die kommenden Jahre zu blicken.

Gemeinsam mit hochrangigen Gästen aus Politik und Wirtschaft diskutieren wir die Herausforderungen und Chancen für eine weitere Umsetzung des TFA. Wir werden uns auf zwei transformative Themen konzentrieren: die Umsetzung der Pan-Afrikanischen Freihandelszone (AfCFTA) und die Digitalisierung des internationalen Handels.

Panel 1: Umsetzung der Pan-Afrikanischen Freihandelszone

Warum ist es wichtig, im Rahmen der Deutschen Allianz für Handelserleichterungen die Umsetzung der AfCFTA zu unterstützen?

Die Pan-Afrikanische Freihandelszone (AfCFTA) ist die größte Freihandelszone seit der Gründung der Welthandelsorganisation. 54 Mitgliedstaaten der Afrikanischen Union haben das gemeinsame Ziel eines kontinentalen Binnenmarktes mit 1,3 Milliarden Menschen und einem Bruttoinlandsprodukt von 3,4 Billionen US-Dollar. Die Initiative zielt darauf ab, den innerafrikanischen Handel zu fördern und auszubauen, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu verbessern und die verarbeitende Industrie der afrikanischen Wirtschaft zu entwickeln. Mit einem erwarteten Anstieg des innerafrikanischen Handels um 52,3 Prozent (UNECA[1]) wird das Abkommen den Handel fördern und die lokalen Wirtschaften diversifizieren. Darüber hinaus wird das Abkommen zu Strukturen für Kooperationen, Streitbeilegungen und einem sichereren Investitionsumfeld führen. Diese ehrgeizigen Ziele unterstützen den sozioökonomischen Wandel, den die Agenda 2063 der Afrikanischen Union vorsieht. Bessere Geschäftsmöglichkeiten und wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen werden lokalen und internationalen Unternehmen gleichermaßen zugutekommen. Somit ist das Abkommen ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung des Ziels eines „wohlhabenden Afrikas auf der Grundlage von integrativem Wachstum und nachhaltiger Entwicklung“ (African Union, Agenda 2063).

Mit dem Ziel, die Debatte zu Maßnahmen im neuen Terrain anzuregen, werden Redner*innen und Gäste des High-Level Forums 2022 Herausforderungen und Chancen bei der Umsetzung der AfCFTA diskutieren. Im Vordergrund stehen eine nachhaltige und selbsttragende wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in Afrika, sowie die Maßnahmen von Regierungen, Unternehmen und Verbänden zur Förderung des internationalen und innerafrikanischen Handels. Aktuelle Trends und Herausforderungen in globalen Lieferketten sind zusätzliche Ansatzpunkte für das Potenzial der AfCFTA-Umsetzung. Durch die Bündelung von Ressourcen und Diversifizierung von Unternehmensstrategien können alle Akteure zum widerstandsfähigen grenzüberschreitenden Handel beitragen.

[1] United Nations. Economic Commission for Africa (2019). African Continental Free Trade Area: Questions & Answers. Addis Ababa. © UN.ECA. https://hdl.handle.net/10855/43253

Panel 2: Digitalisierung des internationalen Handels

Wie kann die Digitalisierung transparente und effiziente Zollprozesse fördern?

Für die Beförderung, Freigabe und Abfertigung von Waren im grenzüberschreitenden Handel müssen spezifische Daten verarbeitet werden. In vielen Entwicklungsländern sind papierbasierte Abläufe und manuelle Prozesse im Zoll noch immer verbreitet. Daraus resultierende Risiken wie mangelnde Transparenz und Ineffizienz stellen Regierungen, Unternehmen und Bevölkerung vor Herausforderungen im Handel.

Die Digitalisierung von Daten und Prozessen rund um den Handel ermöglicht einen schnellen Dokumententransfer, überprüfbare Quellen und ein hohes Maß an Vertrauen für alle beteiligten Akteur*innen. Digitale Zollprozesse erleichtern den Handel erheblich, indem sie die Wartezeit an den Grenzübergangsstellen verkürzen. Die durch die Covid-19-Pandemie verursachten Kontaktbeschränkungen haben gezeigt, dass die Digitalisierung von Dokumenten und Verfahren in kurzer Zeit möglich ist. Für eine nachhaltige Wirkung müssen Regierungen in Absprache mit dem Privatsektor langfristig ganze Systeme optimieren und anpassen. Technologien wie z.B. Blockchain ermöglichen partizipative und transparente Prozesse, bei denen auch kleine und mittlere Unternehmen leichter auf relevante Systeme und Strukturen zugreifen können.

In verschiedenen Projekten arbeitet die Deutsche Allianz für Handelserleichterungen gemeinsam mit lokalen und internationalen Partner*innen an der Umsetzung digitaler Lösungen für den Handel. Dies steht im Einklang mit dem Ansatz „Digitalisierung für Entwicklung“ der Bundesregierung, der sich auf new work, lokale Innovationen, Chancengleichheit, gute Regierungsführung und die Nutzung von Daten zur Unterstützung der digitalen Transformation in den Partnerländern konzentriert.

Das High-Level Forum 2022 bietet eine Plattform für verschiedene Perspektiven auf die digitale Transformation. Referent*innen aus Regierungsinstitutionen, Verbänden und Unternehmen kommen zusammen und erörtern, wie weitere Erleichterungen im internationalen Handel vorangebrachte werden können.